Trump restricts travel from Europe to US


On Wednesday, 11th Mar, US President Donald Trump announced a 30-day ban on flights to the US from Europe in an attempt to curb the spread of the coronavirus.

Trump bans travel from europe

However, the restrictions will not apply to the United Kingdom (which had a total of 400 coronavirus cases on Wednesday) and Ireland.

However, Americans in Europe can still travel back home as the new order only bars foreign nationals travelling from Europe to the US. Furthermore, the order also allows legal permanent residents and the immediate family of US citizens to enter the US.

President Trump’s travel restrictions on Europe are similar to those on China introduced shortly after the outbreak of the coronavirus.

Trump signed an order that prevents most foreign nationals that have been in certain European countries during the 14 days before their arrival to the US from entering the country.

The list of countries includes Austria, Belgium, Czechia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

The US State Department advised citizens not to travel abroad due to the global impact of the coronavirus pandemic.

If you think you have a claimable flight disruption because of these events, use our eligibility checker to see whether you are eligible for compensation.